Newbie needs advice with fluorescents !

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by heyjude, Aug 6, 2012.

1. I'm set to start my first grow , I've got my funds in order , seeds , etc . but what I'm stuck on is the lights , I wanted to go with flourescents over halides this time around for cost , but I'm not sure what would be better , compact flourescents , or the two foot , or four foot tubes .
    which would be most cost/energy efficient . and what kind of hanging fixtures should I be looking at (preferably ones under thirty dollars) I'm not looking for the fanciest set up in the world , just something that works , I'm open to just buying the sockets and making a reflector , but I don't want to build something that requires me working with wires (I'm no electrician, the idea makes me pretty nervous) .
    any help you can give me will be appreciated !

2. If you can get T5s get those. CFLs are more of a pain as the spectrum for growing is about 2-4 inches from the bulb. You could use CFLs for side lighting.

Fluorescent Grow Lights

3. what I ended up getting were two, two foot T5s with one set of bulbs for 6500k and one set for 3000k. not the best setup, but fine for the space I'm workin with :rolleyes:

4. I am also no electrician but most wiring is so simple that once you do it a couple of times you can apply it for most electrical items. It is also very easy to find diagrams online and information on what wire goes where. Of course always ensure the wires are dry, not plugged in etc all the usual safety stuff and you will be fine. Of course I am not saying to go and start rewiring your house but simple stuff is very easy once you get the hang of it

5. i,d like 2 c some good pics of these t5,s in action, mostly around flowering time. i,ve heard stories about grows with these t5,s but i have,nt seen the pis. how close do u keep the lights from the plants? i,m interested in these t5,s also..i sure dont want 2 do any wiring---lol.