yes, I'm a noob.

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by ObsceneJester83, Apr 5, 2012.

1. my question is on lighting. i know you really shouldn't skimp on anything when attempting to provide oneself with with medication but budget is just an issue for me. i'd like to know what kind of light thats fairly inexpensive i could use for this. specifications and data are what i'm looking for but if anyone has a certain brand they prefer that will work too. i ask that you tell me your reason of preference. if you have a suggestion for an led light i'm looking to spend around 300-400. hps or mh i'll spend approx 200 for each. thanks for the help

2. #2 hemi4spd, Apr 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 5, 2012
    Led. Is outta the question on your budget.
    At least one that works anyways.

CFL. Are affordable. But lack oomph! And usually buds suffer from this lack of penetration. (people will argue this all day long) once u go HID u never look back to fluroros. They do serve well in veg rooms and for propigation.

HID. Either way. Affordable or bling bling expensive.
    2 choices in ballasts. Digital and magnetic.

Electronic(digital) ballasts are quiet and save a bit in electricty, have pretty cases, and some have features like being able to dimm. If your gonna grow for a long time can save you alot in electricity. These units cost more. But just in your budget. Leaving very little for bulb and reflector.

Magnetic ballast. Very reliable, off shelf parts, they buzz, dont look as pretty, dont put out stray EMFs that digis do. These will leave you some money in your pocket.

Look for a ballast that can fire MH/HPS lamps. And make sure all wires are included. Dont forget a bulb. Id reccomend getting 2, dont want a bulb failure to ruin your grow.

You will also need a socket and reflectorfor either ballast type. You can buy all this in a package. But tend to be inferior quality stuff.