Year Round Greenhouse Grow Possible?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Caprican, Jan 2, 2010.

1. I've seen alot of grow journals, but havn't seen anyone talk about growing in an outdoor greenhouse out of season - Anybody do this, or know anything about it? Do you think I'd have to use supplementary lights o ge them through veg, or just go straight into flowering from seed?

Would the plants get enough light if the sides of the greenhouse are opaque?

I'm in northern california so its kinda cold, how much would a greenhouse raise the temp do you think?

2. To begin, I have no experience growing pot at latitudes higher than the tropic of cancer. Here, there is only about 2 hrs. difference in daylight between the two solstices...about 14 hrs. in summer and 12 hrs in winter. That being said, I still use artificial light to vegetate my plants that I put out to flower in winter because the few "volunteers" that have grown under natural light during the fall only got to about a foot tall. They did make decent buds, but there wasn't very much.

With some passive heat collectors in your greenhouse, you should be able to keep temps high enough to prevent the plants from being stunted by cold (considering y'all don't have seriously frigid temps around SF).

I guess I didn't help much, but I am interested in how your plan will play out. Good luck.