Working in the food industry?

Discussion in 'General' started by bromance, Feb 19, 2011.

1. #1 bromance, Feb 19, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2011
    Am I the only person that likes it? I like how fast-paced it usually is and the shitloads of people/connections you can meet.

Do you work in the food industry? What do/did you do?

I worked as a host/cashier at BDubs and that job was actually pretty hard seeing as how we had to greet/seat guests, bus tables when servers didn't bus them and we'd be slammed (and servers NEVER bussed their fucking tables..so you can imagine having to rush to bus a table from a party of 9 on football sunday), run/tray food, cashier, clean bathrooms and keep the lobby clean, put fliers on cars in the parking lot, sweep the sidewalk, refill the ice machine, make the tea, and so on.

I currently work as a server assistant at a popular and expensive steakhouse chain..and honestly....servers don't really do shit. The most they'll have to do is fake a smile/being polite to get a tip and roll some silverware/fill salt/pepper shakers IF that. Hosts don't do shit but greet and seat...

Can't wait to transfer to a serving position.

2. That sucks you're not a waiter..

3. Most GOOD serving positions require a decent amount of experience.

You didn't need it at BDubs though, but servers got shitty tips since most of the crowd that came in were in high school/cheap. If I'm going to serve I'd rather do it somewhere expensive like a Cheesecake Factory or P.F Changs....etc.

4. I worked as a waitor for a few years and I enjoyed it when the restaurant was running smoothly. I enjoyed the interaction with people and making sure they had a good expereience. But when my restaurant was understaffed and when he items out of stock, it kinda sucked. Cause as a waitor people will take shit out on you. But overall it was cool, and I loved the hours (being able to work at night).