Wiring question

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by satogob, Mar 3, 2013.

1. Hello everyone! I'm new to both GC and growing and I need some sound advice on connecting a few things. I have a 400 W Lumatek digital ballast that I want to connect to a basic reflector w/ ceramic holder (photo attached). Since I have absolutely zero experience with electrical wiring I wanted to make sure that I connect the two properly so as not to start a house fire or draw attention to my grow. :eek: Do I just match the colors (i.e. blue to blue, green&yellow to green & yellow, brown to black)? Also do I need to strip the sheath a bit before inserting the wires into the socket?

My second question concerns the ventilation system. The fan's socket has two wires, both black, one of which has 1 printed on it, however my cable has three wires (brown, blue and green/yellow) and I am not sure how to connect these (photo attached). I appreciate any help you guys can offer!

Attached Files:

2. Typically yes you would just match the colors the green yellow wire is going to be the ground wire, and the colored wires are the hot leads,are the lights 240volts or 110volts if its 240 the colors are both doing the same thing, post a pic of the little plate that had all the electrical I do on it.

3. But yes the one connection that has all the matching colored wires in the first pic just match the colors no need to strip back any more of the jacket that's plenty of copper showing, I just wanna see the info for the second pic with the two black wires.