Will this light bulb work?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by 011010, Apr 24, 2007.

1. im sorry im very very new to this. I purchased this bulb at the local canadian tire though im not sure if this bulb will be suitable for a small 2-3 plant grow cabinet. I know it looks cheap and i have been reading on the stickys and all. Its a flood style lightbulb made by philips. Labeled Agro-Lite plant light. 150w "120V" Just wondering if a flouro light would be a better choice. These cost about 8 dollars per bulb and fit into most lamps which is convienient. My seeds have just sprouted and i'd like toget them under light a.s.a.p thanks

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. Im still new to this to, but im gonna have to say no.... For the price you paid for that you could buy 6500k Daylight CFL's and those will work fine or at least they have for my 3 plants :)

3. where can i find these lights? do i have to go to a specialty store? or any homedepot?

4. Wal mart they're swirly flourescents get the ones that say 6500k daylight $6.44 for a pack of two.

5. i use the same lights excpet i got 2 75w and there not flood lights there flouresent and my seeds spourted in 2 days from seed soo they work but its a slower grow

6. how many of these bulbs should i buy to feed 2-3 plants. and isthere a limit to how much light i give them given that the heat/humidity etc are along guidlines found here on the forums?

7. Hi, im new at this too. From what I hear the minimum is 50watts per plant, but the reccomended wattage is 100 watts per plant. Just make sure when you go get them you look at the actual wattage (not the incadescent equivelent.)