Why do you think?

Discussion in 'Marijuana Legalization' started by realcarlos, Nov 4, 2010.

1. Hey guys I'm kind of new to site. I have a question for you all. I want your own opinion on why you think mj is illegal?

Your own thoughts please.

2. Mostly due to hemp being made illegal in the 20s. Recreational use of cannabis was very rare before the 20th century, until all the fuss in the yellow press about "reefer" and "marihuana".

What's absolutely hilarious about the whole prohibition thing is that if it weren't for it, smoking marijuana would probably now be as common as khat.

3. Use the search button. Use Google. Both will provide an ample amount of facts about how Harry Anslinger was the driving force, along with traditional American industries such as alcohol and paper, behind marijuana illegalization.

4. thanks purple but i wanted to get the members opinions

5. On the Hippies documentary History channel was running before, Marijuana: A Chronic History. They were talking about the Sit-Ins, Demonstrations, etc.. that were happening in the 60's. They couldn't stop them from protesting but they knew everyone smoked so harsher pot penalties would give them a way to stop the hippies.

Something like that..
    It was a cool documentary.

6. I know you're requesting that members respond in their own words, but, not alot of movement in this thread thus far - so I'd just like to offer this speach by Jello Biafra on the subject - highly recommended (pun intended).

It's a good general overview of the history behind mj prohibition in this country, and Jello's an entertaining and informative speaker:

(circa 1990)

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Ow3i2iqjW0]Grow More Pot! (pt. 1)[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujiqrl32UI4&feature=related]Grow More Pot! (pt. 2)[/ame]

Peace!

7. I think marijuana is illegal right now because of a corrupt and illegal government. (If 'illegal government' makes any sense)