Which Road to Take In Life?

Discussion in 'General' started by Ghetty.Green, Aug 27, 2010.

1. A little background.

--I've been selling things since middle school, starting out selling candy that I bought wholesale.
    --Now I've moved up to iPhones, iPads and any electronics to sell

I make more money buying and selling on ebay and craigslist than I ever have at work.

I'm 19 and I am a sophomore in college, I don't want to work for anyone and I am very happy making my own money and taking pictures for money..

So from ANY OLDER PEOPLE!!! Is it worth it to get a degree to "fall back on" even though I'd rather work alone? I'm not getting much personal gain from the college experience.

I work third shift and have NO life, they pay for school..

My question is, is it worth being happy or rich or a mixture of both?

Just because you have a degree doesn't mean you will get a job, who knows what type of jobs will even exist in 5 years. If anyone has advice, please message me or type on here.

I'm not a loser looking on grasscity for you to plan my life, but rather a push for my indecisive personality!

2. Yes, it's worth getting a degree.

A degree won't make you rich, it won't guarantee you a job in your major, but what it will give you is options and connections, that you will never get otherwise.

I can understand wanting to work for yourself (I've owned a photography business for over 10 years), but it's not guaranteed happiness. Owning your own business that will support yourself and a family, is extremely hard work and a 24/7 job. And you still work for other people - your clients.

If you're an entrepreneur, why not get a degree in business? It will be useful no matter what direction you decide to take in life 5, 10 or even 20 years from now.