Which city should I move to?

Discussion in 'General' started by EmAndA, Aug 1, 2012.

1. So, my girlfriend and I are considering moving out of California for the first time together. We currently live in Southern California in between Los Angeles and San Diego, but more inland...90 minutes from the beaches of Orange County.

Just to tell you a little bit about ourselves, we are a same sex couple. We want to live in an environment that is very gay friendly. We also smoke marijuana, so we would like the city to be weed friendly and have Medicinal Marijuana available to us legally.
    We are both enrolled in college in California and we want to transfer to another community college. I am majoring in Communication Studies and my girlfriend wants to become a teacher. We also want to be located near a good University as well.
    Lately we have taken up the hobby of hiking, and I have gained an interest in casual biking and the idea of camping.
    My girlfriend is a city girl from San Francisco, and I'm a small town girl from the middle Southern California. We have 5 dogs right now. We love art, diversity, I enjoy anthropological studies and I would like to be in an areas with a lot of choices for museums. We love the idea of a big to medium sized city. Something affordable for us, around $400 to $600 a month for a condo, apartment, townhouse, or studio.
    We are looking for a city that is good for gay couples, dog owners, near the ocean (within a half an hour from the ocean), we prefer to stay on the West Coast and we have thought about considering Portland Oregon, Seattle Washington, Bellevue Washington, or Tacoma Washington.
    We are looking for somewhere that has distinct seasons, but never gets too hot. A safe city, with public transportation and a great culture!
    Does anyone have any advice on what city in the US would be a good fit for me?

2. Any of those are great choices for the factors you've listed..
    Decide on your guy's gut feeling.