Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Where is the line between self medicating and addiction?

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by darkstone, Jun 27, 2010.

1. I use marijuana primarily for my depression / anxiety / ocd. I have been smoking daily for almost two years and growing for a while now. I work at an electrical engineering firm so I really have to be sharp and motivated. But it's also extremely stressful which isn't all that great for my condition.

I usually smoke 1-2 bowls a night after work. On weekends I'm pretty much high the whole time and I'll smoke around 5 bowls Saturday and Sunday.

Over the past two years my tolerance has really risen and I have yet to take a tolerance break longer than a few days.

So my question is, where is the line?

Do I have trouble taking a tolerane break because I genuinely need weed for some chemical imbalance or because of addiction or does it even really matter?

I don't smoke around other people so I really have no clue where I stand and I don't have a scale.

And smoking still gets me high but it's definatley not as intense or last as long but then again people say it's never as good as when you first started.

2. It's just a placebo effect. You're used to marijuana treating your symptoms so when you go without it, the only thing you can think about is weed, because it's always worked for you.