Where do i cut my plant to make it bushy?

Discussion in 'Plant Training' started by Cr3224, Aug 4, 2016.

1. Hi guys this is my first time growing and i purchased a clone about a week and a half ago and i was wondering where i should top it to make it bushy

Attached Files:

2. Cutting the very top offf will make it bush out and grow two new tops .
    Anythime above the 4 th node is the rule , I guesss .
    I am concerned because your plant is so dang skinny , not sur it could hold growth . You fan should be rustling the leaves , stimulating the stem to thicken up ..
    Looks like you light is too dim , too far away , or both . Th e bottom clump of leaves shows it was a great clone growing nodes that were close together , above that the plant is lanky ( ungracefully thin and tall. ). a bad thing , which is due to insufficient light and started when you brought it home and put in under poor lighting .
    If you don't get better light on it , it will continue to be lanky , and won't produce much buds .

• Like Like x 1
  3. How far away is your light? That is the first thing I'd be considering here, looks to be stretching quite a bit. You could try and fim the new growth or tie down the branches. Personally, I'd let her grow a bit more with the light closer, then cut her at about where she starts to tighten up her nodes, then do some mainlining on it. Would be interesting.

4. Good stuff from DF & WW, above. And another question, what IS your light? Color rendering in your pic's kinda sorta looks like an LED but what type and wattage? Reason for asking is to recommend the proper distance from the top of your plant.
    About topping, this is typically done at the very top of the plant, where new leaf growth is occurring. Look down into the top closely. You will see two new leaves that have already opened, and a new set of leaves forming but not open yet. Cut out the new leaf growth that has not opened, as close to the opened leaves as you can get.