When to transplant out of cups?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by TheFxckingHero, May 3, 2006.

1. Hey, everyone. This is my first time using the red solo plastic cups for sprouting. On previous attempts I've had them sprout in larger containers so I didn't need to transplant very quickly. I have 6 bag seed sprouts going right now while I wait for some ordered seeds. They are about 3 days old under a 400watt HPS and putting out their second set of true leaves. The cups are 18oz and around 6 inches tall.

I want to transplant before they get rootbound, but I'd like to keep them how they are now for as long as I can before becoming rootbound, because I have them in a verynice setup where they are getting almost all of the light reflected on them that I won't really be able to use once they are in bigger containers due to space issues. How long do I have? I was thinking 1 to 2 weeks, but 2 weeks might be pushing it. Again, I want to utilize my set up as long as possible, but avoiding them becoming rootbound is more important because I don't want to stunt their growth. How long do you guys recommend I wait before transplanting to bigger pots? 7 days old? 10 days old? or could they go a full two weeks? Let me know. Thanks. :)

edit: you could also recommend to me by what node the plants should be on before transplanting. that would help too. either way.

2. you should have holes at the bottom of the cup for drainage, i wait until i can see a root at one of the holes.

3. yeah, what he said. It's tough to just give a time because different plants under different conditions will develop their root system at different rates.