when to plant germinating seeds

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by gaston, Feb 20, 2010.

1. i germinated some bag seeds and 5 of them started opening up and sticking their ummm white tongues out? haha this is my first attempt to grow and i want to know when i should plant them. 1 or 2 days more? also do you point the "tongue" thing up or down into the soil?

Attached Files:

2. #2 puffin13, Feb 20, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2010
    "tap root" goes on bottom....looks ready to plant....

3. I've seen some people write that the taproot should be 1/4" long before planting in soil.

I have butterfingers and I worry that if I waited until the taproot was that long, I'd kill it.

I wait for them to split so I can just see the taproot, and then I drop them in soil. It takes a day or two longer to sprout (but probably just about the same amount of time that it would take for the taproot to get that long), but it works for me.

Also the taproot pointing down thing is ideal, but if it means digging it back out of the soil - like if you drop it in and it lands upside down - it's not a big deal, and with my butterfingers, I just leave them upside down rather than trying to reorient them.

I mean, these things will sprout in nature, and in nature they aren't getting buried to the proper depth, they aren't necessarily in PH balanced soil, they don't necessarily get watered at exactly the right time, they don't have the advantage of starting out in paper towel, and they don't have the advantage of being oriented with the taproot down. Yet somehow they survive.

You may get a higher success rate if you do everything exactly right, but if you don't get every detail, it doesn't mean a dead plant.

4. so like tomorrow? and can i plant them in normal fertilizer for now? or should i get all that special shit with NPK or whatever

5. I put mine right into FoxFarms Ocean Forest soil.