when do i harvest ?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by gameplayguru, Feb 1, 2009.

1. total newbie when do i cut and hang ? pic enclosed . thanks,

outdoor grow with supplemental flouro closet lighting, 4 hours out side 8 hours in closet then 12 darkness,,,

Attached Files:

2. Nice bud there. You harvest when the trichomes are to your liking - best to do a search on that and see pics. You really need a magnifier, essential growing equipment really. Good luck.

3. There are several techniques used in determining maturity. I'm w/ cantharis on this, I go by trich myself. I prefer them cloudy, not quite amber. Some use the hair method which is when 85% of the hairs turn color, they harvest, others use the leaves to determine harvest time, when the larger leaves surrounding the buds yellow and the buds have used up all the available sugars and such in the leaves, they will harvest.

I personally think that plant has a couple weeks yet, have you started flushing? It is always a good idea to flush the last 2 weeks, I usually go 3 b/c I hit the plants w/ molasses the first week I begin my flush.

less

4. i just bought the radio shack magnifier !!! oh my god ! i have never seen anything so amazing in my life !!!! my tris are clear and long like crystal stalagmytes or some crazy alien world plant !!! woohooo,

so when they are mostly amber i cut and hang ???

5. That depends......When all are cloudy, you will have a heady high, whereas when the trichs are all amber....it is a stoned out couch lock high.I wait until 30-50% of the trichomes have gone from cloudy to amber, to get a combination high. If they are all clear....it is too early.
    That's cool that you were able to get up close and personal with your buds:D It's a trip to see those close-ups. For me.....its the pay-off for all the work and research.

6. best money i ever spent!

wait for 30-50% amber and your good to go!