What type of soil is best

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Govanator, Jun 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. I have been doing the DWC route for about 6 years, mainly due to my grow being in the basement in previous house right next to water access. I have since moved and have a bigger space, but no direct water access. I was pretty successful with DWC but have since moved a plant outside in the soil and saw how amazing it's doing.

Anyway, I want to switch to soil and haven't looked into it before. I'm looking for a soil that I can water and let it do its thing.
    I also had a question with how long soil lasts before replacing, or do you add nutrients like you would with DWC( but not as often)?

Would appreciate any other tips or tricks if you have them.

2. I've done DWC for years as well. I started doing promix on the side with my DWC plants and feeding them the same. They shortly started to rival my DWC plants. It's just easier. You can use the same nutrients but you don't need an air pump. Feed weak and often. I feed nutrients every day.

I think you might like it since you know DWC it's an easy switch over. It's still hydro and my promix plants have rivaled my DWC plants in yield as long as you finish in at least a 7 gallon smart pot.

Lots of promix brands and types out there. I prowl the forums. The most highly recommended promix is promix brand HP. It comes 30% perlite out of the bail. I use sunshine promix 4 and mix it with 15% extra perlite. I think it's a superior medium to just coco. It's not nearly as picky about ph. I try to hit about 6.2 but it doesn't care as much like DWC. I mix in 2tbsp per gallon of mix of dolomite lime to help supply cal/mag and balance ph.

I'm just now doing a crop that's all promix. I put all my DWC stuff away for a while. It's nice not hearing my air pump and the plant's are happier then ever. I'm 9 days since flip in a 4x4. 4 plants. IMG_0945.JPG

• Like Like x 1
  3. #3 Govanator, Jun 1, 2018