What the hell is wrong with my plant??

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by afrobong, Mar 17, 2011.

1. hi,

Please help me, I am a novice and this is my first grow.

I have a young plant, sprouted 10 days ago. Not exactly sure which strain but I think it is Mango Kush. I got the seeds from my stash which was pretty dank. Anyway so this plant has been growing in regular dirt I got outside my house (I planted this before I bought soil at the store). I am growing it under 2 23w CFL lights in my closet with about 9 other seedlings. The temp is a bit hot because I live at the equator and I only have a fan in my room. At the closest point to the lights the temp is 100 degrees F or 40 celcius. I put a cage with 4 mice in the closet to supplement CO2 levels. I have also put a dehumidifier (humidity here regularly exceeds 90%)

In the past 24h or so the serrated edges of the leaves have started turning yellow a bit. What could be causing this? Another sister plant grew into one of the lights and got burnt . The yellow marks on the former are different from the light burns though. How do I treat the one with light burns? So far I've only cut the burnt areas off and watered the plant.

Could it be that the soil I used is lacking nutrients? Should I add fertilizer? If so how much and what type?

Also, In the early stages my light was high up so the two above mentioned plants stretched a bit. The burnt one looks like its forming nodes on the stem below the leaves. Also I've noticed some roots exposed a bit where the stem meets the surface. Is this a sign of under watering?

PIX:

Attached Files:

2. it looks like the dirt you are using may be the problem, and potentially the temperature

3. yeah, since you don't know what was in the soil before, you might have screwed up your plants a bit.

The yellowing sounds like a nutrient issue, so you probably want to add some.

I like the Advanced Nutrients setup myself...

Sensi A&B Grow
    Sensi A&B Bloom