What kind of light should I use?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by SourDiesel42011, Feb 15, 2015.

1. Been doing some research and I think im using a weak light, its a soft white 13W 120V 60Hz 210mA 2700K, dont know which one to use since im a beginner. So type and price would be good only have 2 plants so dont want anything to expensive

2. #2 GoldGrower, Feb 15, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2015
    A 13w CFL wouldn't grow anything over 5 days old.

If you want to use CFLs you are better off using wattages of 20w or over. 6400k (cool blue) are generally used for vegging as it lowers stretch a little bit compared to 2700k. Those are usually used for flowering because stretching is less of a factor and red light packs more energy than blue

How much area are you lighting up? 

This might help 

[​IMG]

3. thanks! But would be the price range cuz Im prob gonna go tommorow to get some better its 1x1 2 inches right now

This is so wrong and yet so right, that I think my head will actually twist off, lol

5. Can you also clarify which light to use

6. Sorry, I'll explain what I mean. I was actually making a kind of joke.

• Blue light has a shorter wavelength than red light, and so it has a higher energy than red light.
    • 'Blue' spectrum bulbs produce fewer lumens per watt than 'red' spectrum bulbs.
    • The plant responds to both red and blue light. During the flowering phase, the amount of red light has a proportional increase on the dry yield (although not well proven because they also have higher lumen output than the equivalent 'blue' bulbs)
    So the quote I made is fundamentally incorrect from a physics point of view, however it is correct from the point of view of the amount of lumens generated per watt and (possibly) yield weight.

Haha.  :smoking:

7. Lol sorry the question wasnt meant for you, but I now have a deeper understanding of blue and red lights

8. #8 jeuwan, Feb 15, 2015