What is wrong with my little seedlings?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Sinescent, May 2, 2018.

1. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

13 days old
    (4) 48 Inch T11 Flourescent lights 5000 Kelvin, brand new tubes about 2-3 inches away, with 20/4 On/Off
    Soil mix is about 50/50 Perlite & SPM with a tad bit of compost
    Watered daily to keep soil moist

2. 13 days? could of something slowed it down? Heat or maybe the compost is hotter than you expected. I'd slack off on watering until its dry. I'm new at growing, so these are the things I would do. Put a fan on it that may cool it down.

3. It's not too hot. Actually, my temps were down in the 50-60 range for the first weeks or so because my basement was cold. I was afraid putting a space heater on them would dry the soil out too much, but I've had one on for past week with temps mostly in 65-75 range. I'v had a fan on them pretty much the whole time.

4. You could try a soil kit to see where your soil stands on nutrition. Any number of things can slow them down. It is possible you are overwatering them.

5. #5 HarveyHarvester, May 2, 2018
    Last edited: May 2, 2018
    I'm no guru but I'd say the cold temps slowed things down.
    I usually run seedlings around 73F since it helps prevent stretching and a light breeze from a fan helps strengthen the stems. Once out of the seedling stage, I raise temps to around 77F. (warmer temps = faster growth)
    I use space heaters all the time, just don't put it too close to the plants.

*edit: I don't think we ever want temps below 60F during any phase of the grow.

6. #6 HarveyHarvester, May 2, 2018
    Don't water until they have dried out real good... they need wet/dry cycles. (and high humidity for seedlings and vegetative growth, 60-70%)

• Like Like x 1
  7. So combination of low temps and over watering....great.
    Maybe I should just dump them and start over.

8. #8 HarveyHarvester, May 2, 2018
    No, don't kill 'em, they look fine.