What is the best out of the bag potting soil?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Judge Dredd, Jan 18, 2014.

1. Title says it all. I'm a beginner, so I want a good "out of the bag" soil. One that's nutrient rich, that will last me at least 2 harvests. If I need to add something to it like lime to adjust the pH, I'm fine with that. I just don't want to go all out and mix my own soil. I want to keep it simple.

I've heard good things about the Roots Organics Original mix, as well as the Fox Farm Ocean Forest.

2. I had my best results with happy frog. Better than ocean forest, better than roots organic IME.

I added 5 gal perlite to a 2 cu ft bag, along with 2 cups lime and 6 cups espoma tomato-tone. To this day, that grow was my best gram per watt.

3. $1.48 40lb bag of topsoil from Home Depot...

I'm not trying to be a smart ass but honestly, if you're going to risk a felony, Legal State or not we're still under Federal Law and blah blah blah.. 

Seriously OP, look up soil mixtures and organic cultivation. You've gotten this far, take the extra step and improve your grow to the next level. You got this man! 

4. I'd love to, but the bottom line is that I don't have the time right now lol.

I'm working with a $6,500 budget, I need to order all the equipment for the grow room. I still haven't found any Canadian retailers that carry the things I want, so I'm more than likely gonna be stuck paying customs fees and duty and all that shit to have stuff shipped from the US.

5. #5 corkybuchek, Jan 18, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2014