Watering Cycle

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by StonedChaos, Oct 4, 2007.

1. I figured i would get this before i planted my seeds butwhat is the watering cycle like once a day or every other day?

2. I'm no expert but according to all these books I have, watering will be dependent on a number of variables. Grow room temp, relative humidity, air flow, grow medium texture, grow medium drainage etc. I am curious to see what more experienced growers say. I was thinking of using a meter to gauge how moist the soil is deep inside the pot rather than on the surface or one inch below.

3. so here's how i know if i need to water: i stick my finger in the soil about an inch(on the side of the pot of course so there's no root damage) and if your finger feels wet, wait another day to water. if you pull out a completely dry finger, it's time to water. just feel for yourself. you can never overwater this way.

4. I have a question similar to this one, but regarding amount. I've heard multiple times about 1" rule, but how MUCH water should one be giving the girls when it's watering time? I've been erring on the side of less water, as I figure I can always put more in later if it dries out faster, but as my girls get bigger I'm worried about the lower roots getting too dry. Is there any rule of thumb regarding this?

5. You want the soil to get fairly dried out between waterings, it encourages root development (they grow longer and stronger in search of water), and also the roots need oxygen, so over-watering can suffocate the roots. There is no schedule of watering every x days, it's when your plant/soil need it. Once you get experience you will be able to tell just by picking up the pot and knowing how light it feels when it needs water.