Waterfarm recirculation modification

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by WhobeBoo, Dec 31, 2016.

Tags:
  1. #1 WhobeBoo, Dec 31, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
    Hi...
    I've been using the GH Waterfarm setup for over 7 years and have always had very good results. You can check out some of my grows by doing a member search.

One problem that I have always had is with the low volume of the recirculating through the WFs and back into the reservoir. The best I could get would be 1.5 cups per minute. This calculates out to 5.625 GPH. At this rate, the nutrient temps would be to high after traveling through 8 WFs and back to the reservoir. Even with a chiller, the first few WFs would be too cold and the last few WFs would be too hot. Very frustrating! :bang: I would have more that a 3c different between the reservoir and what was coming out of the last WF into the reservoir.

What I needed to do was to increase the flow rate between the buckets. I could never find a pump that had a low enough GPH that would not drain the WFs and overflow the reservoir and didn't want to have to put a pump between each WF to get an even flow.

What I decided to try was adding a second pumping column in the reservoir. I searched GC and could not find where anybody else had done this, so off to the hydro store I went.

I wanted to use a Y connector, but unfortunately, the hydro store didn't have any. So I used a T connector and 2 - 90 degree connectors and made a 1 into 2 adapter. I connected the second pumping column and after some fine tuning (of the air pressure), I was able to increase the flow to 2.5 cups per minute! This calculates out to around 9.375 GPH!

With this faster recirculation, my nutrients only rise about 1.75C between reservoir and what is coming out of the last bucket. Now I can set the chiller to 18C and the last WF stays below 20C!