Trying to quit smoking cigarettes.

Discussion in 'General' started by Deleted member 275754, Jun 23, 2010.

1. First off, I know there have been many threads like this before, but I would like to participate in an active discussion from the beginning, rather than reading someone else's, as everyone is different in their own ways.

So, I've been smoking cigarettes for over 4 years. I started on my 14th birthday, the same night I smoked weed for the first time. After we got done smoking (out of a pop can, ugh) my best friend who already smoked cigarettes at the time lit one up, and he and another friend began talking about how they boost your high (although I believe the weed actually makes nicotine effects more potent, but either way I'm sure you understand if you're a smoker as well). I listened for a minute, and made one of the biggest mistakes of my life. I asked for a cigarette.

Within a month I was up to a pack a day, and have been smoking about 2 packs a day for the last couple years. I've managed to cut myself down to about a pack a day now, sometimes more or less, but I just don't have the willpower to stop.

I know how unhealthy it is, and hate how much it costs, as I could be buying much more weed than I can currently afford if I didn't smoke cigarettes, but the honest truth is I love them.

Cold turkey hasn't worked, slowing down hasn't work, snus hasn't worked. I just don't see how it's possible to stop doing something I'm not only addicted to, but something I love doing.

If any of you blades have any helpful advice or comments, I would greatly appreciate it.

2. #2 chillin420, Jun 23, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2010
    try champix (chantix in the US) if your serious about quitting, its a pill that makes it so you dont crave cigarettes anymore but it can also make you feel sick and give you bad dreams.