True beginner here. I need some strange advice.

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Doctor Nugz, Oct 3, 2010.

1. Hey GC, as you can see this is my first post.

I've been tokin' for years, and recently have developed an interest in cultivation. Unfortunately, I am not comfortable with growing right now, since I am in college living in an on-campus dormitory.

Another reason I am not comfortable starting yet is the simple fact that I have never grown any plant in my life. Ever.

So my question to the community is this:

What are some good 'practice' plants that require about the same amount of care as MJ plants require?

Keep in mind, I will be growing your suggestions indoors, probably in a closet, just to simulate the environment I'll be using to grow my MJ (eventually).

Thanks in advance for the help!

2. I guess tomatoes are your closest match, but honestly growing isn't that hard of a task. The plant has survived this long on it's own, we are just now learning how to maximize it's potential so don't be scurred ;).

But wait til you are out of the dorms to start growing, my buddy got busted by a chill ra my freshman year but he told him to get rid of the op within the hour or he would report him. Nice guy, but he could have really been fucked.

3. I got some hops growing and its more of a vine than a plant, not something that would provide an accurate experience of growing weed, tomatoes would probably be better imo. not to mention...those buds might be mistaken for weed should someone see the plant.

4. I was thinking of hops because they have many of the same problems as weed (mites, mold) and some of the same nutritional needs, since they both belong to the family Cannabinacea.

5. #6 Kevin08, Oct 3, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2010