Training For 18 Minute 5K.

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by Trogdor, Jun 1, 2013.

1. My dream has always been to be able to fly, but since I ain't got wings, this might be as close as I get.  I want to run an 18 minute 5K to have accomplished something very challenging. 

I'm a few months away from my 30th birthday and don't believe I have "good running genes"  I eeked out a 22 minute 5K last year, but lost any level of fitness I had over the winter.  A month deep into getting back in shape, now I'm going for broke. 

I will run, bike and swim my way to victory and share my fun tales with you stoners.  Last night I started riding my bike at 3 am and didn't finish until dawn started to break. 

2. I would incorporate weightlifting, more specifically, strength training for your legs (once a week). It helps. 

Besides that, interval speed training for 15 minutes a session. Mix that up with long distance cardio. I would throw out biking to be honest, as swimming and running are the top cardio exercises so stick with them. I'm not going to tell you when to workout, as running isn't really taxing on your body, but make sure you do throw in some rest days here and there (especially with the strength training). 

I ran a 5k in 17:50. It took me like a year to get to that. I had certain benchmarks along the way to make sure I was improving. 1.5 mile in 8:45ish, 2 mile in 12:50ish, 2.5 miles in 15:30ish.

3. Some VERY good advice already here to switch things up with interval training.  Used to run every day.  Switched to biking though, as i just enjoy it more.

And while biking may not be the same physical muscle movement as running, don't underestimate the cardio.  It's actually as efficient or more than running (if you maintain 15MPH+, that's the key).

Good luck with it, post your progress OP!  That sounds like an awesome challenge, but not sure I could do it at my age.