Total Noob Micro Grow. (Mini Fridge Growbox)

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by jackzobe, May 29, 2013.

1. Hey guys, i'm a total noob, but i've been lurking for a while and just moved to my own place and was gonna start a little growbox for her personal use to save a few hundred bucks in the long run. I have a few windshield reflectors, the fridge and a few power strips. The fridge is 3' tall, 2' wide, and 2' deep. I'm having trouble deciding which lights to use. Pretty much every other person is saying cfl's would be best but i just wanna be sure. before i waste some cash on shitty lights. i was thinking maybe 2 6500k, and a 2700k cfl for veg then 3 2700k and 1 6500k for flowering. The next concern is circulation, i was thinking of putting a 4"  fan near the bottom of the fridge, another intake fan blowing across the bulbs, then a 5" exhaust fan on the other end of the lights. Another question i was curious about is, whether to do an organic grow or a small DWC grow. Iv'e already read a lot and lurked through several threads but as a lot you guys keep saying, you can never stop learning. 

2. Hey man, good luck with your first grow and welcome to GC. In order for us to help you we will need some more specifications, like how many plants you plan to have in there, what wattage do each of your light has (if you are going with CFLs just look at the lowest watt writen on the box). The fans setup sounds good. As for the organic vs DWC i am not the correct person to tell you what to do as i have never tried hydro, but i think it is clearly about preference more than anything, but i would say go with organic for a first grow as it is more forgiving and requires less attention.
    The helpful people of grasscity will surely give more insight than i can when you give them the additional information, but i hope i have helped even a little :)