toshiba laptop won't turn on/charge?

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by bazoski1er, Feb 13, 2012.

1. hey gc, i'm not very good at this computer stuff and i have a problem. my toshiba satelite laptop will not turn on. when i first tried, the dead battery light flashed but when i put the charger in, nothing happened. i have since tried different chargers and power outlets to no avail. i also took the battery out and put it back in, no change.

has anyone had this problem before or know how to fix it?

any help would be greatly aprpeciated. there are some files on there i really need.

:bongin:

2. It is a longshot but try

Remove the battery
    Hold down the POWER ON button for at least 60 seconds, hold it down for the entire minute, so it releases any built up charge. Then put the battery back in, plug it up, and try to turn it on.

I have had this work sometimes on laptops doing the same thing. If that doesn't work its not the most difficult thing to remove the hard drive, buy a simple adapter, and get your files that way.

3. It could be your power jack. I hope it's not. Mine got fucked lately on my little Compaq and it'll cost me £70 to fix it. That's about $100.

F'real.

I'm sure you could get cheaper if you looked though.

4. I have a Toshiba Sat that did this, power button would blink a few times and then go off and hard drive light wouldn't light up. Had extended warranty and when I called they told me to do the battery and power button thing, no help. So they had me send in computer and now I' on my 4th motherboard...like previous poster said POS...go shopping..I bought a MBA and haven't looked back...

5. tried it then, didn't work :( thanks though

it's only a year old and it was still running perfectly until friday

nice input, now kindly fuck off.

i think it must be the power jack. it's the only thing that makes sense (to me, anyway).

any more ideas are welcome though i need all the help i can get!