Timer question

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by SantiagoDunbar420, Mar 14, 2017.

1. I'm just starting flowering on my second grow, on the first one I manually turned the lights on and off every day for two months. Real pain in the ass. My problem is that I've been told that the $20 timers you get on Amazon will at best stop working within a few months, at worst melt down or burn your house down. What I've been told by a few people is to go with the Intermatic t-103 mechanical timer, but if I understood my friend correctly I would have to pay an electrician to come into my house and wire that directly to my breaker, which as I live in a rental is not an option. Are there any other solutions? Something that can go between the timer and light perhaps to balance power surges? I have no electrical knowledge so I really have no idea what I'm looking for. Thanks for the help GC couldn't this without ya

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

• Like Like x 2
  2. Been using a mechanical timer from WalMart for 2 years and funny thing is it has yet to melt down nor has my house burned to the ground. Don't know who you got your advice from but maybe don't ask them anything else.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Dude either they clowning on you for being gullible, which you are from reading your post.

I have yet to see anyone house burn down due to timer. You have better luck with burning your house by plugging in your smart phone over a timer that goes on and off due to time setting.

99% of indoor grower for personal use, use those timer. The 1% has a expensive rig setup. If you have all extension plug use up, that is more of a risk for fire compare to a control timer unit.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 2
  4. it depends on what you're running off of timer. I wouldn't run a 1000 watt ballast off one and it says not to right on the package. they make a ballast timer that plugs into a wall for that