Thinking about being a waiter

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by dtoken210, Apr 30, 2012.

1. I have a lot of food experience and now I want to be a waiter. Can some people who have been servers tell me what they thought of it and any tips possible would help.
    Thanks

2. I've never been a server, but its pretty much what you see when you go out to eat. Of course you'r gonna meet some super nice people, but their are definitely going to be some assholes you have to deal with. People whose food "isn't done properly", or I heard a customer tell me this at work (gas station). There was a group of 10-12 Black folks out at dinner. they had a white teenage boy as a waiter. He said they left a huge mess on the table, and didn't even leave a tip. He said the people at dinner felt that the waiter "owed" them, due to the color difference.

Not saying thats gonna be you everyday. But I could see it happening in the right situation. You probably make good tip money being a waiter, but personally I would never bee one.

P & P

3. Expect to make next to nothing and be treated like dirt by your superiors and customers.

4. I work as a server at red lobster. Your pretty much just taking and filling orders, bussing, and making sure everyone in your section is taken care of. In a good week I make $300 in just tips alone. But ive heard of people working at different resturants pulling $150 on a good night. I dont usually deal with many assholes but that changes for everyone. Anyway good luck in whatever avenue you choose. But if you have a friendly personality and a hard worker. Go serve and make some money.

5. I just got a job (bout 3 months ago) working at a really fancy expensive joint and from having no hospitality experience I was fine (been baked there too).

If you think you are fine with communication then you'll be fine, its not hard, give it a shot.