The great leaf debate

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Spazik, Apr 24, 2011.

1. #1 Spazik, Apr 24, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2011
    Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster.

Well I'm relatively new to this game, I had two grows I messed up by using miracle grow and a normal feeding schedule and am on a third that is going pretty good with a coco fiber and perlite/vermiculite mix and "Flora Nova" grow and bloom nutrients, cal-mag, Superthrive, Hygrozyme, Mykos in the soil, some mollasses, and Clear-ex to flush. PH is about 6.0, room temp is about 75 degrees and relatively dry, two small fans blowing air and another fan venting in from a taped off side entrance. 15 Indica dominant hybrids under a 1000 watt interchangable MH/HPS.

Now, according to my calender I have about a week left until 8 weeks of flowering has passed, and according to a chart in one of my books they look like they have another week or two to go (I'm thinking staggered harvest because the tops look a lot more "done"). So here's the reason I'm posting...

On this forum and others I've noticed there is great debate between the idea of aggressively removing any excess leaves to "expose more light to the bud sites", and the idea that all leaves should be left on because "it provides more energy to the plant like solar panels". I've seen beautiful looking buds before on a plant that had a bunch of yellow and droopy leaves hanging off, but I've also seen pictures of nice looking buds where all the leaves were pulled off except the ones with the tips sticking out of the bud.