The color of a growlight in RGB

Discussion in 'Science and Nature' started by Prankster, Dec 11, 2021.

1. #1 Prankster, Dec 11, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2021
    So this is just out of curiosity that im trying to do this but im trying the figure out the color of a growlight from the spectrum of its light. I have no experience in such calculations so I hope that somebody that is familiar with CIE colorspaces and chromaticities and stuff can help me figure some stuff out that are unclear to me.
    But yeah. First we need a spectrum.

I took the spectrum of a viparspectra pro series growlight as practice. There was only the spectra and no tabulated data so I recreated that spectra with excel by counting pixels.

spectra1.png

So you three types of cells (L, M and S) in your eyes that are sensitive to light. They are different in there sensitivity to different colors. These cone fundamentals can be approximated by the following equations:

conefund.png
    But because of colour mixing your eyes response to different colors (wavelengthts) is calculated with the following equations by using the y's of the previous equations.

colormatch.png

So how do I see the spectrum of the vipraspectra light? I have to calculate the response of my eyes to the spectrum of the vipraspectra light to get the socalled XYZ tristimulus values.

So i have to calculate the product of the previous calculated x, y and z at a certain wavelength times the y of the spectrum of the growlight at that wavelength. Fot every wavelength (I took steps of 10 nanometers).

This results in the response of the eyes to every wavelength in the spectrum of the grow light.

what you see.png

Spectrum is black and the colored lines is what your eyes see.

*Note. I might be completely wrong about all of this :)

So now I have to translate this to RGB.