terrified to smoke; help!

Discussion in 'General' started by biorobotics, Oct 3, 2012.

1. #1 biorobotics, Oct 3, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2012
    so, i live in a co-op housing unit with apartments above and next to me. smoking in the units is illegal, as per city law (and helpfully posted 'no smoking' signs right outside).
    i've been smoking in my apartment at least twice a day for about 6 months, and i'm always extremely paranoid that i'll get caught, somehow. i blow smoke into a fan and spray odor neutralizer in the room afterwards. i'm mostly worried that someone nearby will hear the clicking of the lighter, or hear me inhaling (especially when i use a bong).
    it got really bad tonight, when my lighter stopped working so i was clicking and clicking and clicking, trying to get the flame to stay lit, and suddenly the smoke alarm goes off (i had the door closed, but the alarm is right outside the door). so i freak the fuck out and no way i can smoke any more now (i still had a good-sized bud left) so i put everything away and now i'm trying to figure out how to smoke again tomorrow morning (my usual routine).
    i might need to buy a new lighter, unless you guys can tell me why one of my lighters won't flick anymore, like it's grinded to a halt?
    anyway, how can i be comfortable smoking again? how likely is it that my neighbours suspect anything? worst case scenario, what kind of trouble am i doing to get in? will i have the police knocking down my door?
    by the way, i live in ontario, in case that matters.

oh, edited to add: to make matters worse, a few years ago someone got caught with a grow operation in these units...