Taking a year off in College

Discussion in 'General' started by Amped, Jan 10, 2013.

1. Right now I'm in a 3 year program, Construction Engineering. I'm in my first year, second semester just started. This program would get me a good job w/ good money, but I honestly hate construction. I was forced to hop right into college and made a quick decision to join this program. None of my classes interest me, construction is not for me. I'm currently 18, would be 21 years old when I graduate if I go through with it.

I was thinking of withdrawing my tuition from this semester and take a semester or a year off. Thinking of going back home, I have a part time job in retail I know I can get guaranteed (just for a bit of money), and I want to apply to a bunch of Model Agencies, cause why not, I have nothing to lose and I think I have a good chance. I want to spend the time volunteering as well, basically just trying out new shit. I want to find something I actually like, and then come back to college for another program.

I ended up with a 3.2 GPA last semester, so that's not too bad. My advisor told me it shouldn't be a problem applying to any college again after my break as my transcript is fine.

What do you guys think? I figure if I finish the construction program I could be making good money but I wouldn't be HAPPY. Lol I have just found myself in the typical college kid situation..

2. i got my bachelors exactly 1 year ago. I told my self i would go back in 1 year for my masters. Its tough to be honest because i am used to this work flow i have been having for the past few months. I would have loved to take a backpacking road/euro trip if i could do it again. But its all about the motivation u have.