starting late... couple questions

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by socket, May 18, 2007.

1. I'm getting my seeds this weekend. I'm going to germinate asap and have seedlings in solo cups for a week or two at max. No bigger then 3-4 inches before I transplant to the ground. Should I be fine for a harvest in sept or when?

Also whats my best bet for sexing my plants? I doubt I'll have the means to do early identification. So when is the optimal time to ID male planets? e.g. Late enough telling them apart is easy, but not so late that fertilization might occur.

I'm a well read newb to this. Any help would be great. Thx.

2. whats happening Socket? As far as being too late, that all depends on where you are. For me, east coast usa you would be fine. Plenty of time to beef those girls up. I would leave them in the cups for atleast a few weeks, let them get a few sets of nodes. Are you planting in pots or the ground? As far as sexing, you have some time before you can worry about that. If you have read on this forum and seen some pics of male/female plants, you will have no problem sexing them before they pollonate. Relax and enjoy the ride. Toughest part is being patient, but by Sept/Oct it will be all good. Good luck.

3. Thank you! That pretty much puts any fears I have to rest. I'm in the southeast and I'll be planting in the ground. I'm already chomping at the bit to get them in the ground, and they're not even seedlings yet. =p So I'll need to calm myself and bunker down for a long summer. Falls my time of the year anyhow. =) Thanks for the advice.

4. Just an idea, I have heard alot of growers speak of growing in pots, which are planted in the ground. That way if they need to be moved for some reason it is easier and less stressful to the plant than digging it up. As I said, patience is the key.