Starting a cultivating business...

Discussion in 'Marijuana Business and Industry' started by Mastermind92, Jun 10, 2016.

1. Hello all,

I am a graduate student wishing to jump head first into the medical cannabis industry after I graduate. Ohio recently legalized medical cannabis. I have read all of the bill. It is controversial even among cannabis advocates and some details are yet to be determined. Nonetheless, I plan to be apply for a cultivators license ASAP (I cannot find language in the bill that states if one can hold both a cultivators and processors license, does anyone know about this?).

I would love to have a conversation with an experienced cultivator. I would love to be taken under someones wing, so to speak. I am also interested in established businesses having some stake in my own.

This post is about the process of starting a cultivating business, with a focus on financing. The way I understand things is that banks do not finance such businesses. It appears that I would need a private investor. Does anyone have experience with finding private financing for their business? Do any cultivators have words of advice for a young entrepreneur?

P.S. Sorry if this thread is in the wrong place.

2. #2 BornHippie, Jun 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2016
    Out of curiosity what's your inspiration for following this endeavor? I'm asking because my personal journey with cannabis has been such a roller coaster I can't imagine pursuing it as a business currently. At one point in my life I would have thought it was a dream to be involved with the medical marijuana business, but I guess I'm uncertain about it now.

Do you have prior experience cultivating? I'm curious because I have some, and my perspective is different.

• Like Like x 1