Spider mite control that works & safe!

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by snappahead, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Hey everyone,

I just wanted to share this...
    I have been battling spider mites in my outdoor grows for a couple years now and have tried about everything and nothing seems to really work.

Ladybugs all flew off and ignored the mites. Natural bug / mite sprays from the garden center, nothing. Several soap / oil homemade sprays did next to nothing and burnt the plant. Bifen XTS mixed over strength did NOTHING. Some kind of Bayer insecticide with mites listed on the bottle did nothing. Diatomaceous earth, sprayed 4-5 times did nothing.

So I was doing more and more searching and finally found someone who said mix 2 cups white flour to 1 gallon of water and spray on the plants... An hour later all the big ones where dead and it looks like they had molted prematurely and they where running around the leaves like mad! 2 hours later none where moving and it looks like they have been liquified!

I did this after the sun had went down and it was still about 90 degrees out. So far, 3 days later no plant damage and we have had 100 degree days. It's dirt cheap, appears to be safe and effective. Plus no worries about spraying in flower since it will wash right off with cold water.

I hope this helps someone and it really does work!

• Like Like x 2
  2. Just an update, No new ADULT spider mites since I sprayed the flour / water mix. I have seen a few small mites, most likely eggs that have recently hatched and none of them have been feeding, they all seem to be running around like crazy. The only down side to the flour spray is it's messy and does NOT readily wash off the plants. It has started coming off with time tho.