Some Hydro Questions

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Glassy80, Aug 14, 2008.

1. Afternoon/Morning all!

I've got some basic questions on doing Hydro grows. Basically ive been growing for a few years in soil, and fancy changing to Hydro. Soil is obviously quite easy, you stick the sprouts in the soil, but them under the light and use a set amount of nutes in each watering. This has been quite productive for me, but i've been told how good, quick and tidy hydro grows are in comparison.

My questions:

How difficult is it to maintain a hydro grow? As in how many time does the main reservoir need to be topped up. In a typical 6 pot setup, how much water in litres do you need to put in first, and how many litres does it need to be topped up ina week. My grown area is in an awkward place for water, so I have to carry a 15 litre water bucket up some stairs everytime.

Also how easy is it to get the right PH levels and CF levels in the water, and how much time does it take to sit there and do this. The nutes side of it is fine, its mainly the watering part I want to know about.

Also is it actually quicker than soil? Do the harvests differ? The tastes? Is it easier to keep plants that are hydro healthy than it is soil? I'm basically just looking for the pro's and cons.

Sorry for the massive post!

Glassy

2. ok here goes. its recommended to change the res every week on a certain day. i picked Tuesday for my water change. I test the ph coming in and coming out. i try to use distilled water every time so yea its a hassle getting water. i have a 20 gal bucket for a res and i fill it 1/2 the way (maybe a little more) all the time.

Hydro is quicker than soil , but you give up some perks with hydro. Growing in soil gives your grow a better taste and smoke. it just takes longer to grow in soil. Hydroponics is meant to speed up the process as well as control ever part of the plants environment.