Soil vs. Hydroponics

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by MajesticWhelk, Oct 2, 2007.

1. I'm not sure if I should have started a new thread for this, but oh well. I am setting myself up to grow for my first time in the coming months. I have been doing a lot of research, but from experience, I would like to know what people recommend for a first time grower. Is hydroponics easier to get the hang of? Does soil produce better quality buds? Which has the bigger yeilds?

Thanks for your help.

2. Soil is easy and cheap but hydroponics is supposed to give better yields. A short power failure could kill your plants in a hydroponics setup.

3. yah you can get faster growth and a little more yield from hydroponics they say. i have no personal experience to offer tho. i can vouch for hydroponics being less forgiving though

4. Hey Bro, I grow ebb and flow hydroponics. I will never go back to soil. Now, it is harder to deal with but not too much harder. The benefiets of hydro are awsome in the strains I grow. The flowering time is shorter, the yields are outrageous and it produces a different high and taste. If done correctly the results can be phenominal. I grow sour d, white widow, ak47, big bud,and PPP. All of which love my ebb and flow sytem from greentrees hydroponics. I use the ebb and flow big plant system with 1000w mh for veg. and then I switch to hps for flowering with 24/0 light schedule then 12/12 for flowering with the general hydroponics flora pack nutes in hydroton medium. Jane can grow almost twice as fast and almost twice as big. I would recommend hydro now so that you learn how to do it. But this is all preference in what people want. You are always going to get people that swear by soil and people that swear by hydro so you kind of have to do both to see what you like. In any decision you do let us know and keep us posted on your grow. Good luck Bro.:hello:

5. Thanks for all your help guys.