Soil mix opinions

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Borophyl, Aug 13, 2012.

1. #1 Borophyl, Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2012
    I will be starting my second batch of soil here soon, and I noticed with my first batch that I seemed to be running out of "gas" shortly into flowering. My plants have been the healthiest and heartiest plants I've ever had since I started mixing my own soil, but I've noticed a lot more "yellowing" in flower than I usually encounter. So here my new mix, and I'm hoping to get some feed back from you guys on what additions/subtractions that you suggest.

50%peat moss
    25% homemade compost/ local worm castings
    25% aeration (lava rocks+perlite)

To each CUBIC foot:
    3 cups Glacial rock Dust
    1/2 cup Alfalfa meal
    1/2 cup Kelp Meal
    1/2 cup Crab meal
    1/2 cup Neem seed meal
    1/4 cup Oyster Shell flour

Any and all feedback is appreciated!

Boro

2. G'day boro:)

I'm new to all this so I've got a question, why so much rock dust?
    I'm a bit kelp mad at the moment so I'd probably double up on that:D

Oz

3. Boro,

My mix is identical to yours, except what the above poster mentioned. I went full cup kelp meal.. Oh, and I ordered the BioAg Mycorhizae, also. Can't tell you my results yet, as this is my first time mixing my own. (and it's still cooking) But, sounds like we came to the same conclusion as far as our research on soil mixes goes.

I'm awaiting replies from your post as well, since we're pretty much in the same boat. Best of luck, man!

4. Looks good enough boro. Consdier adding some gypsum for Su and additional Ca.

What size container are you putting that in? That might be good enough for a 3g container. I'm also curious why so long on the rock dust at the expense of perhaps addt'l alfalfa or kelp or ... ? I think I'd be concerned with a heavy soil mix with that amount of rock dust and that could imact root development.