Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Smoking with a Defibrillator? Brugada Syndrome

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by rasheedwallace, Dec 12, 2009.

1. I am a 20 year old male recently diagnosed with a Heart arrhythmia called Brugada Syndrome. It resulted in me having to have a defibrillator implanted immediately. Does anyone else have a defibrillator or know if it is safe to smoke with one? I have been smoking usually on a daily basis for about 2 1/2 years.

2. Just from my basic knowledge, a defibrillator is to stop fibrillations in the heart. I've never heard of marijuana causting fibrillations. Marijuana has been found to increase heart rate as well, although I believe it's only temporary. And I've you've been smoking for a few years, I doubt anything's gonna happen now.

I think you'd be fine.

3. #3 tharedhead, Dec 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2009
    I'm glad you got that diagnosed! Your implanted device will detect, and correct, a specific type of arrhythmia-a simple increase in heart rate from smoking should not trigger any response.
    You'll notice right away when your device is triggered, the shock is pretty pronounced. Like "OW! Goddamn it!" :) so if you're not jumping and clutching your chest, all is well.

• Like Like x 1
  4. thanks for the help guys. redhead- Do you have a defibrillator?

5. #5 tharedhead, Dec 12, 2009

No, but my Father did. Did you have the external one on at any point in this process? Dad said that was like being wired to an electric fence.