Should I Move To California?

Discussion in 'General' started by Nyxierawr, Jun 3, 2013.

1. So I currently live in Florida but I want to move to California.
    Not just because of the medical marijuana either.
    I'm studying to be a Marine Biologist, so college.
    Also are their more jobs there that are actually decent?
    What is minimum wage in California and is it enough to live on?

Awesome Opossum

2. #2 Badfish90, Jun 3, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2013
    I recently moved to California. Luckily I had a plan all set up before I moved out there and I'm in a good position. But, looking around, I'm one of the few. 

If you're going to be moving here, know that there's something waiting for you before you move. Minimum wage is not enough to live on out here. The amount of homeless people here is ridiculous. I see families going through the garbage in front of homes just to find something to eat. Granted, I live around LA so prices are going to be higher than if you move somewhere up north.

Are you planning on going to school out here or have you already enrolled somewhere? If you wanna go to school out here but aren't enrolled anywhere, get a financial plan set and enroll before even thinking of coming out. There's some great schools on the east coast that offer majors in marine biology too, so don't rule them out because they aren't in California. 

There are loads of people arriving here everyday with no real plan or sense of direction. Just an idea of what they want to do. If you know how to pursue your goal, rather than just want something to fall into your lap, you'll be fine.

3. Yeah. My boyfriend is just about to finish school to be a paramedic so we would be moving to a bigger city.
    I'm just kinda browsing schools right now.
    Trying to find what ones would be best for me.

Awesome Opossum

4. #4 hello ladies, Jun 3, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2013