Setup help for an absolute newb...

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by poppywes, Dec 6, 2005.

1. First post, glad to be a part of the boards! I have been doing alot of research over the past several months and am interested in trying to grow for the first time. What I need is some general input to help me come up with the right setup for my goals (no knowledge first hand whatsoever and don't know a single person who has firsthand knowledge in my area; I am completely at the mercy of what I learn on the boards).

A few questions to get started: In general, what method is easier for the beginner (indoor or outdoor)? If I would choose indoor what is the easiest method for a begginer once everything is setup and running (soil, hydro, or other)? I have purchased 12 good seeds and this is all of the seeds I have to my name. I have nothing else purchased, I'm litteraly starting from scratch. I am looking to do this just for my own consumption (which is not much at all, moreso a fascination with growing than anything) so I am looking to use the smallest setup I can to accomplish this goal. Thanks in advance for any input...

2. Welcome,

Indoor is prefered because u can manipulate and grow plants faster (outdoors is much easier).

When you start, start on soil and see what plants are doing (soil has a buffer so when you make mistakes it's easy to restore).

Most important is to learn about the power of light, read all the boards (not only this one) and learn about light. Golden rule Light is Weight Try to get you're hands on a 400 or better 600 Watt Hps with ballast. This way you are half way there.

We in Holland work with clones (no seeds) so the questions about seed can be answered by other members. (Seeds give nicer plants but commercialy it takes too long for me).

Make sure temperature, light and humidity are ok and you will be a succes.

Good luck, read and keep asking questions

3. good info cord.