Second time around w/hydro, PLZ HLP!

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Grow Journals' started by c.money.gro, Oct 3, 2009.

1. :confused::confused: Hey whats up people? So I am new to GC but man I'm loving what I've seen so far! :hello:

Ok, so here is the deal. I just finished my first grow with hydro where I only grew one plant, from seed. I germed the seed in rockwool, transplanting to a 3x3x3 rockwool cube, then into hydroton pellets in a 5gal bucket with a home-made drip system. This was a recirculating system as well. I have a small pond pump that was set to turn on twice during the light cycle for 15 mins at a time. I used full strength Dya-gro nutes under a 400w MH. Now, i admit, i was a bit lazy about checking ph daily... well lets say weekly :rolleyes:.... My plant grew ok, but i came across a few problems: The main one being that the plant grew extremely tall (almost 7' in an 8' closet) I tried tying down her arms but the b*tch was strong, she loved the light i suppose. lol. I've done some research and decided that two factors probably paid a part in this vertical growth, her genetics(which im unsure of) and the light was prolly too far from her at first so she stretched???

The next problem was that the lower branches never really thrived. They were always skinny with lanky growth and produced very little buds while the top of the plant did par to just above par. It was literally looking like a tree lol, long trunk with bushyness at the top.

The last problem being that the leaves developed a lot of spots and yellowness during the flowering cycle. I was careful to mix the nutes according to the directions but i wonder if i had nute lock up or if the ph swings damaged the plant?

So I really dont want these problems for my new crop.:D

I guess the first questions to address would be if I want the plants to top out at max 5'6" when should i top them?(i never topped the first gal)