S.I.R.'s Weightlifting / Weight Loss & Gain Aid Thread

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by StickyIckyRicky, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Hey guys.

So, I've been lifting regularly for about five years now, and daily for three. Usually I work out 6-7 days a week, including running, sprinting, lifting, plyometric lifting, and boxing.

In that time I've learned much about the intricacies of lifting (frequency, volume, intensity, TUT, et al) as well as of diet (protein intake, carb-vs-fats, ratios, insulin sensitivity, etc.). I see many of you posting threads asking for specific lifting advice, specific weight-loss or weight-gain advice, and I would love to aid you in setting and reaching your goals. That feeling of accomplishment is unbeatable in my book.

I thought I would try my hand as a helper. I have done so for many friends & acquaintances in the past, and considered a move into the field of personal training before realizing that having people pay me large amounts for information that I would give to them for free to see them meet their goals would be unrewarding.

As a FFB (former fatty), I can say from experience that almost anything you put your mind to and keep towards strongly, you can accomplish. At sixteen, I was 185lbs of pure body fat. I had a stomach like a pregnant teen and the stamina of a sixty-year-old man. Within 90-100 days of hard work and heavy dietary modification, I dropped down to 145lbs. At that time, I was skinny, but had little muscle to speak of. Since then, I've been steadily gaining weight, and about four years later I sit here at 195lbs of muscle and going strong. It's all about focus and execution.

I generally keep my posts relegated to the "How Did You Exercise Today?" thread (you can see my regular regimen therein) but I created this thread to help those with questions in two fields that I have much experience in.