Red LED for flower

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by jumpin4abeat, Nov 30, 2011.

1. So I just got a total RED led light. I have had my plants in flowering now for about 2 weeks and was going to put the led on them. Do I need to have blue light still in this stage or can I just use the red led light? I am new to this led light system and dont really understand it completely. I know the red light is for the budding/flowering and the blue/white gives the growth what it needs. So if im not trying to get them any bigger just have the buds grow, can I just get rid of my other lights and use the red?

2. #2 King of Kings, Nov 30, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 30, 2011
    What exact light do you have?
    If its not made for growing then it doesn't matter what color they physically are. Its all about spectrum
    But in general flowering does use more light in the red spectrum but u will still want some blue because led lights do not have very good spectrum coverage.
    Most grow lights mix multiple led's to get more effective light.
    I say good luck with your led grow.

Either way you will end up with that light on Craig's list soon. (Not trying to b an ass but i just hope you move onto hids they will give you much better results)
    Led lights may be the future but right now they are not energy efficient at the ammount you need to grow something half decent.

I also notice you are doing supplemental lighting with it. What are your main lights now?
    If you don't run a hid then you need to invest in that before you try supplement lighting you may not even need a $300+ led light if you spend 150-200 on even a 400w hps. And IT WILL save you electricity believe it or not. (Led's for growing use at least 9w per each led. X that by 100+ led's on that panel plus the cooling fans 3w apiece and you are using more power then a hid and have less efficient lighting)