Recommend me an MP3 player!

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by THEFBI, Nov 30, 2009.

1. You know like an ipod or zune or something. I'd like plenty of memory and maybe a radio capability and plenty of battery life. Also it needs to be durable as fuck. I'm a wildland firefighter and it needs to go into the fray with me so to speak, thanks

2. #2 compy, Dec 5, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2009
    iPod classic 5.5G. Good capacity, fat as fuck but if you're hardcore you'll know its all good. ipodLinux capable (you can have SNES emulators, iDoom, custom themes, wallpapers, and even Python.) Since the memory is a Hard Drive apple made the protective layer very thick, so its all good.

So you're like the Duke Nukem of firefighters?

EDIT: It is, I think that is, 5.5G is Radio capable, you just need to buy a little thing for it. Battery is good if you charge it properly, if you get 5.5G instead of 5G you can play movies on it (i need a citation.) and also classic 6G isn't ipodLinux capable.

3. ipod classic/touch or zune/zune hd

4. Definately get a zune, prolly one of the 120 GB. I have one and love it, radios great, battery life is unlike any other, great music purchasing options. Relatively cheap, too.

5. Since you need durable, I would not do as compy said. Hard-drive based MP3 players, bouncing around and knocking about do not mix well. Get one with a good size solid state memory capacity instead. You probably need it to be water proof, or at least moisture resistant, as well.

Personally I just have a cheap as hell overgrown memory stick MP3 player, with FM radio. It runs off a standard AAA battery, which is practical.

6. Solid State storage systems are becomming more popular in mp3's...