question fro people who know shit about art

Discussion in 'The Artist's Corner' started by BEEJAYJAY420TAP, Mar 10, 2011.

1. ok, so im new to looking for and buying paintings and what not but i have a question.

this painting im in love with is called "cat from the wrong side of the tracks" is a serigraph (whats that mean) that was only made 850 times. and the price ranges from 9k to 15k if you can find one for sale for what i understand isn't even the artist original work??

is there a service or a place i can pay for someone to hand paint an exact replica ?? is this "illegal" does this go against some unwritten code? i don't really care about anything except i love the painting and want it in my house. i cant find anyone selling reproductions which is weird because they do it for other artists..

i am unsure of what to ask, can someone help or point me in the right direction???

thanks gc

2. Having someone make an exact replica of the painting sounds like counterfeiting if the artist chooses to sell it. If it was done for free then it would probably be okay but I doubt they would do it for free considering how much time is put into good art.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Maybe find a poster of it. It was painted by Dr. Seuss, so an original is obviously going to be expensive.

The only other alternative I see is... Art Robbery!!! You'll need a ski mask, gloves, and an exacto knife to cut it out of the frame.

• Like Like x 1

4. nawh dude, cutting it out makes it lose it value, plus defaces art.

STEAL THE WHOLE THING

• Like Like x 1
  5. i found a website that will supposedly make a full size replica hand painted for 181$

how bad could it be? lol

• Like Like x 1
  6. NOT! I've passed groups of artists working in front of the originals at the MET and Louvre to learn from the masters! All the greats did this too! Just don't claim it's THE ORIGINAL!

• Like Like x 1