Quasi stealth/ transportable

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Newb-herber, Mar 30, 2006.

1. I'm pretty new to the whole growing scene. I was considering at least for now growin' some herbs on the side to curb my spending.

I'm at college so smell control is a serious issue however if I had a pretty long venting tube I could vent it out my window and be fine as well the long tube would limit the intensity of temperature changes out side. Also since i'd be blowing air from inside the room outside the cold/hot air would have a tough time coming inside.

Size:Size isn't as big of a factor, I live in a dorm so I can find space for it. Tryin' to keep it smallish, enough for a couple plants maybe 2x2x? or 3x2x?. It also needs to be somewhat portable, I need to be able to take it home for the summer. Height is the biggest problem since I can build it so it breaks down into panels for storage/movement. I'm pretty sure that I have somewhere around 3 ft to work with as far as height unless I can loft my bed in which case I should be able to get about 5-6ft of height which I assume I wouldn't need all of.

Lighting: I'm not totally sure but i've been reading the other forums and I read one that said HPS offered the best spectrum and was best for growing. Given if my grow box was 2x2 i'd need a 250w right? That'd put me at 62.5 w/ft.

On this note, would a different type of lighting offer me a smaller size? I feel like I read that HPS had to be pretty distant from the plants since they produce alot of heat which would in-turn make my cooling more in-depth.

Cooling/ Venting: Computer fans or a blower both have been mentioned. Money isn't really an object. I was just going to put a exhaust fan in because it should pull sufficient air in through the vent tubes which I would put PVC elbows on to limit lighting. Inside I was planning on putting a small fan in two corners since this is kind of a baby box.

Locking: Just a simple visit to ACE hardware.