QB96 Elite Questions

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Ganja_Zombie, Jan 16, 2021.

1. #1 Ganja_Zombie, Jan 16, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
    Howdy there, nice to meet everyone. I have a few questions and I'd be appreciative of any feedback you can provide! I've done quite a bit of searching and it seems like the QB96's are a lot of peoples go to light as of lately. Obviously I'm newbie and this is my first time. The plan is 4x plants in maybe 3 gallon fabric pots inside a 4x4 tent. I was pretty set on doing something like no-technique training, possibly LST, but with even more looking I'm considering scrOG.

Anyway, I was considering a VIPARSPECTRA 1200W from Amazon..but it seems like this may not be the "best" option?

More searching led me to QB96 Elites along with a driver. Would 2x QB96 Elites be sufficient for my plan? Would I be able to / Should I add a third?

I see QB96's are compatible with this driver -

HLG-240H-C2100

Would that suit this, or should the driver be more powerful? I could possibly just be on the completely wrong track with everything? Thank you so much.

2. For that footprint I would personally run 4 qb96 boards, one over the middle of each 2 x 2 section, and power them with either 2 of the 240 drivers or one 480 driver. I think you can push those boards harder than 120w looking at the information on the hlg site but I am not 100% sure. What I do know is that 480w of qb132’s over a 4 x 4 worked quite well for me and the 96’s are supposedly better boards.

3. Also, you might get more answers and information on building an led setup in the lighting and diy subsections of the grow room design / setup area.

Grow Room Design/Setup