Grasscity - Cyber Week Sale - up to 50% Discount

Pruning Buds

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by Hoops6661, Jun 2, 2009.

1. Forgive me if this is posted somewhere, I looked and searched, but came up with nothing.

I need to know if pruning, or "topping" the plant will harm them? As it stands, I have plants that have buds growing, the upper most portion is almost ready for harvest. I would like to have these plants continue to grow the lower buds.

It may be normal for others to do this, but I am a complete noob.

Will topping the plants when ready, harm the lower buds?

I have 4 female plants that remain, of the 15 I started, on those 4 plants there are over 75 buds, the plants are about 36 inches tall, grown in a closet, with 8 flouresent 150 watt bulbs, no fan, no venting, nothing special. I know, your asking, what the hell is he doing? I am slowly adding what I need to the space, but this works for now.

Anyway, will this be good or bad for the plants?

Thanks for any help.

Hoops

2. #2 Fungardner, Jun 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 2, 2009

I know there are others on GC with a lot more experience at topping than myself, but I did it a few times and ended up with 2 fairly good sized kolas at the top of one plant in this instance. And the plant I didn't top had only a slight more weight than the plant I topped with 2 buds. To me, the few times I have topped I really didn't see more in terms of quanity nor quality. Plants can be pruned to allow more exposure to their lower half therefore helping to grow more buds. This is seen easily in plants that have been tied over or trimmed to only allow those arms with bud to get maximum exposure to the light. Just FYI for what it's worth.

Peace,
    FG

3. Yes you can chop the top colas and let the bottoms develope more. Many growers do this. I personally don't because I get good penetration with my light and all the buds are about the same come harvest time.