Please Help Circuit Breaker tripping during flowering

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by PurpleUrksme, Jan 24, 2014.

1. Hey Guys,
       I currently have a 600w hps and 900w LED in addition to dehumidifier,fans,etc
    Fortunately the breaker has only been tripping during the light on cycle, and as far as I know that is not too stressful for the plant if it happens only a few times.

However I am running into problems with the amount of power im getting from the designated circuit. I was hoping to just reroute one of the unused circuits in the box and that would essentially double my available power? idk sry i'm not an electrician which is why  Im in dire need of a 420 friendly electrician in bay area. I have a valid prop 415 recommendation but im still very skeptical of calling the local electrical company. Any advice would be appreciated.

I

2. You're pulling too much current. You're pulling over 13 amps just for the lights. Add in the fans, dehumidifier, plus room lights and what ever else is on that circuit and it's easy to see why the breaker is tripping. Your circuit was designed for 15 or 20 amps at most. Plugging things into free plugs in the same room most likely won't help.
    Most electricians would be cool about it but still be careful. When you find someone, just tell them you need a dedicated 20 amp outlet in the room and plug both lights into that plug. If they ask, tell them it's for a space heater or something. Just make sure the plug they install will let you plug in both lights.

3. First off circuit breakers do go bad over time, the get weaker every time they trip

Upgrade the breaker to 20 amp.

Watch the electrician when you do get one so you can do this yourself next time.

You can do it yourself with a screw driver and a $6.00 circuit breaker. its just slightly more technical than a light bulb.